Principles of Limited Government

Limited Government

Popular Sovereignty – Letting the people rule

Three main principles that limit the governments power: Federalism, Separation of Powers and Checks and Balances.

Federalism

- Federalism The division of power between the states and the federal (national) government.
 - Delegated Powers are those given to Congress (the federal government).
 - Example: Power to declare war
 - Reserved Powers are those given to the states.
 - Example: <u>Establish schools</u>
 - Concurrent Powers are shared by the federal and state governments.
 - Example: Collecting taxes

Separation of Powers

Powers are divided not only by states and federal, but also within the federal government.

- Power is divided among the <u>Executive</u>, <u>Legislative</u> and <u>Judicial</u> branches so that no one branch can become too powerful.
 - Executive President
 - Legislative <u>Congress</u> (Senate and House of Representatives)
 - Judicial Supreme Court

Checks and Balances

This system gives each of the three branches of government ways to limit the power of the other two.